Jurisdiction and Participating Municipalities

TRCA’s area of jurisdiction includes 3,467 square kilometres: 2,506 on land and 961 water-based. This area is comprised of nine watersheds:

TRCA’s jurisdiction also extends into Lake Ontario to a point defined by the Territorial Divisions Act, R.S.O. 1980.

TRCA has six participating or member municipalities:

  • City of Toronto
  • Regional Municipality of Durham
  • Regional Municipality of Peel
  • Regional Municipality of York
  • Township of Adjala-Tosorontio
  • Town of Mono